Verba Volant, Scripta Manent

The Hill News

Verba Volant, Scripta Manent

The Hill News

Verba Volant, Scripta Manent

The Hill News

Class of 2027 elects new SGA representatives

Media: Kiern Lim ’25
Saorise Harlan ’27, Ella Armstrong ’27, Caitlin Tan ’27, Ben Choi ’27, Jackson Bala ’27 and Tommy Gill ’27 after the SGA debate which saw Choi and Armstrong elected as new SGA senators.

The class of 2027 elected their new SGA senators after a drawn-out caucus and SGA debate process.  

Due to an overwhelming interest of 3rd form students in running for the two available representative positions, the SGA initiated a caucus on Oct. 4 to narrow down the candidates who would move on to the SGA debate. 

At the caucus, 12 students who were interested in running for SGA spoke before their class in the Memorial Room.  

I prepared for the caucus by writing my opening and closing statements thoroughly then reviewing them by reading them aloud a few times,” candidate Benjamin Choi ’27 explained. “I practised answering questions which I made up myself which I thought would be asked of me.” 

Not all third form students, however, attended the caucus. The caucus was made optional and not all the third form students were excused from other obligations to go to the caucus. As a result, candidate Ella Armstrong ‘27 worried that “some people will not really know what’s going on until the debate”. 

“I just do think it’s disappointing not to have the entire grade here just because it’s important for everybody to get to have a say in the candidates that may be representing them,” Armstrong said. 

Even though not the entire 2027 class was present for the caucus, the candidates still found the task of speaking in front of the smaller audience a daunting task.  

What I found most challenging was to overcome my fear of stage fright and speak confidently and loudly, rather than being shy and quiet,” Choi said. 

During the caucus, candidates were asked about their past leadership experiences and their plans if elected. Each candidate was given a short time frame of 45 seconds to present their thoughts on the questions asked.  

“I think it’s honestly a really great way to narrow down the candidates, but I do think that it is a lengthy process, and it makes some people not really want to come to the caucus and make their decision on this,” Saorise Harlan ’27, one of the candidates that spoke at the caucus, said. 

At the end of the caucus, a piece of paper was passed around to record the names of third formers present so that they could vote for the six candidates that they wished to see at the debate. 

It was announced later that night that six of the 12 candidates present at the caucus would advance onto the SGA 3rd form debate on October 6. They were Ben Choi ’27, Jackson Bala ’27 and Tommy Gill ’27, Ella Armstrong ’27, Caitlin Tan ’27 and Saorise Harlan ’27.  

The narrowed down group of six candidates spoke in front of their entire class this time on October 6 in the McNally Room. The event started off with opening statements, then proceeded to general questions, like the procedure of the caucus.  

However, the debate ended off a little differently. Prompted by SGA co-president, Reet Tharwani ‘24, each candidate gave a compliment to the candidate seated on their right. The compliments ranged from admiration of their “superior” singing skills during study hall to their bubbly personalities.  

During lunch on 9 October, it was announced that Choi and Armstrong would serve as third-form SGA senators for the 2023-2024.  

I’m feeling pretty good about the win and am honored that my peers elected me to be the female representative of their voices this year and am looking forward to following through on my promises to make this year great for third form,” Armstrong said about her win. 

“I feel so grateful and content. Now, I am ready and prepared to serve our form to make it the best it can be, ” Choi concluded. 

Leave a Comment
About the Contributor
Kiern Lim '25
Kiern Lim '25, Website Editor

Comments (0)

The Hill News intends for this area to be used to foster healthy, thought-provoking discussion. Comments are expected to adhere to our standards and to be respectful and constructive. As such, we do not permit the use of profanity, foul language, personal attacks, or the use of language that might be interpreted as libelous. Comments are reviewed and must be approved by a moderator to ensure that they meet these standards. The Hill News requires a valid email address. The email address will not be displayed but will be used to confirm your comments.
All The Hill News Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *